Author Topic: cron.php doesn't work  (Read 6196 times)

daniel09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
cron.php doesn't work
« on: April 28, 2009, 09:56:18 pm »
When I setup the cron events (email notifications) nothing happens.
I've also tried :
 php /path/opengoo/cron.php
and everything seems allright but nothing still happens

crontab is edited as this :
0-59   *   *   *   *   root   php /path/opengoo/cron.php

any idea?

Benj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • Génération Linux
    • Email
Re: cron.php doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2009, 04:55:39 am »
maybe you should replace
0-59   *   *   *   *   root   php /path/opengoo/cron.php

by
*/1   *   *   *   *   root   /usr/bin/php /path/opengoo/cron.php

It will check every minutes
Génération Linux

daniel09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: cron.php doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2009, 09:59:35 am »
I've made the modification like you suggested, no changes.  The problem is not with crontab, because when I send the command manually nothing happens.  It maybe with cron events configuration in the administrative tab or it might have something to do with the installation (installed on synology CS407).

Benj

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
    • Génération Linux
    • Email
Re: cron.php doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2009, 10:07:33 am »
Well, sometimes nothing happens at home too...
Sometimes it works and somtimes I have nothing :)

I tried to understand the cron.php but I didn't. If someone wants to explain us, it would be so great ;)

PS : Daniel, what do you see in /var/log/syslog about cron ?
Génération Linux

daniel09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: cron.php doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2009, 10:46:00 am »
Thanks Benj,
There is nothing on cron in /var/log

ignacio

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1703
    • View Profile
Re: cron.php doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2009, 11:15:57 am »
What do you mean with nothing happens? You get no output? Note that if you have more than one version of PHP installed on your system, like 4.x and 5.x, the php binary may be pointing to the 4.x version. You need to use the 5.x, that could be in /usr/bin/php5.