Author Topic: Purpose of OpenGoo?  (Read 3327 times)

tamalita

• View Profile
    • Enchanted Graphics
    • Email
Purpose of OpenGoo?
« on: September 30, 2009, 04:59:05 pm »
I am not really sure where to put this and it is not my intent to be inflammatory -- I am simply curious.

With FengOffice available, what is the purpose of OpenGoo?

I know that personally, I prefer having an installation on my own server so that I can be 'in charge', maintain backups (both schedule and physical) of the files and the database, and I'd prefer to send users to my own website.

I use my OG on a daily basis, and pretty much all day long. It is where I store all of my notes and keep track of all of my time for all of my work. I have been using OG since February 2009 and it has become an essential part of my business.

I am not a PHP programmer, but have used many different types of scripts over the years and successfully updgraded working installations of said scripts (shopping carts, content management, etc).  I feel that I have a certain level of technical proficiency that allows me to do the things that I need to and usually want to do.

I have not hacked the OG code in any way, but I'm using the files directly from the downloads.  It seems that each upgrade for OpenGoo that I have gone through has broken my installation. The automatic upgrade does not work and I have to do manual upgrades. That's ok because I'm used to doing manual upgrades for several different types of programs and understand how things need to be done. I follow the instructions. Then when I get to the part where I'm supposed to upgrade (domain.com/opengoo/public/install) the upgrade fails and I'm left with a broken installation.

I then have to spend a large part of my day reverting back to my old installation that was working and once that is back again, deal with the annoying message that a new upgrade is available.